Most Consecutive Wins in T20 and in T20i

It’s the shortest form of the game and it can also be the most unpredictable, but some teams have learnt to dominate twenty twenty cricket. Here are the longest winning streaks in T20 and in T20i.

Highest Winning Streaks in T20 Leagues

Sialkot Stallions

Consecutive wins: 25 – From February 2006 to October 2010

The team with the longest winning streak in any form of T20 cricket are the Sialkot Stallions. The figures are outstanding with the side winning no fewer than 25 matches in a run that lasted for well over four years.

Sialkot were the dominant team in the National T20 Cup, which was the tournament that preceded the Pakistan Super League. They won this competition on five occasions between 2006 and 2010 but, since the PSL was incepted, the Stallions have since dissolved.

Sialkot Stallions


Consecutive wins: 15 – From January 2018 to November 2019

When we talk about T20 cricket in India, we’re all thinking about the IPL, but there are other domestic T20 competitions in the country. Away from franchise cricket, the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is the most important tournament and it was dominated by Karnataka for almost two years.

Led by the experienced Manish Pandey, the team won no fewer than 15 straight matches in this competition and that run includes a title success in the 2018/19 season.


Consecutive wins: 14 – From December 2012 to September 2013

Like all major cricket playing countries around the world, New Zealand has a strong domestic T20 tournament and Otago are one of the more competitive sides. Known as the Otago Volts, they have won the Super Smash on two occasions to date and their title success in 2013 is included in this long winning run.

Starting in September 2012, Otago began a run of 14 straight victories which included a win by four wickets over the Wellington Firebirds in the 2012/13 final. The Volts began their defence strongly, but their winning streak ended on 14, and they have yet to win the Super Smash since.


Consecutive wins: 14 – From May 2014 to October 2014

Before Karnataka overtook them. Kolkata enjoyed the longest winning streak in Indian domestic T20 cricket. This run came in the IPL as the team were guided by long-serving skipper Gautam Gambhir.

The run began in 2014 after a poor start to the competition which saw Kolkata off to a shaky start. The team recovered to win nine games in a row and that included a victory in the 2014 final. Kolkata continued their strong run in the Champions League T20 which followed later in the year. They won five matches before Chennai ended their run in the CLT20 final.

Gautam Gambhir
Gautam Gambhir

Surrey Lions

Consecutive wins: 13 – From June 2003 to August 2004

Surrey have always been strong in English domestic cricket and they won the first edition of the national T20 Cup in 2003. The team’s long run of 13 straight wins began in that 2013 season and it included a victory in the final by nine wickets over the Warwickshire Bears.

Surrey continued to dominate the competition in the early stages of the 2004 campaign, but their impressive run was eventually brought to a close after 13 consecutive wins.

Most Consecutive wins in T20i Cricket


Consecutive wins: 13 – From June 2022 to December 2022

In T20 international cricket, the longest winning run currently stands at 12 matches. Malaysia were the team to deliver this lengthy winning streak which began in June 2022 and ended in December 2022.

Malaysia’s first victims were Singapore who they defeated by 23 runs on June 29th. Malaysia beat Singapore again a day later, while other victories came against Thailand, Bhutan and the Maldives amongst others.

Malaysia’s final win in this 13-game sequence came against Bahrain on December 19th, 2022.


Consecutive wins: 12 – From October 2020 to September 2021

Three teams have managed 12 straight wins in T20i cricket at the time of writing. We’ll begin with Romania whose long winning streak began with three victories over Bulgaria across just two days in October 2020.

Additional victories came against the likes of Greece, Serbia and the Czech Republic before the final win in the sequence saw Romania beat Luxembourg by 33 runs on September 5th, 2021.

The Romanians most impressive performance resulted in a 10-wicket win over Serbia where the openers made 116 in less than six overs.


Consecutive wins: 12 – From February 2018 to September 2019

Afghanistan’s national T20 side also recorded 12 wins in a row, and their streak crossed from February 2018 to September 2019. This was a lengthy period and it underlines how little T20i cricket was on the schedules five years ago, as opposed to today.

What’s also interesting about this streak is that it came against just three countries – Zimbabwe, Ireland and Bangladesh. The Afghans won all five of their series games against the Irish, and that streak included an 84-run victory in the second game after they had posted a colossal 278/3. This total was a world record which still stands at the start of 2023.


Consecutive wins: 12 – From November 2021 to February 2022

India played some tough teams in their 12-game winning streak which ran from November 2021 to February 2022. It all began with two victories over weaker opposition as they brushed aside Afghanistan, Scotland and Namibia.

India then won three games against each of three separate opponents. New Zealand, the West Indies and Sri Lanka were the victims before the sequence was finally ended.

There were a few big wins along the way, but the widest margin in terms of runs came against New Zealand. India faced the Kiwis in Auckland and they won by 73 runs after posting a target of 184/7.


Consecutive wins: 11 – From March 2016 to March 2017

Afghanistan are the only international team to appear twice at the time of writing. This sequence ran for 11 straight games and it lasted for almost a year. First up were the West Indies who lost by just six runs in Nagpur.

Nearly 12 months later, the final game in the winning run saw Afghanistan overcome Ireland by 28 runs. There were five wins over the Irish in total, together with victories over Oman and the UAE. Some would say that the opposition was very weak, but 11 consecutive T20i wins is still an impressive feat.


Consecutive wins: 11 – From September 2021 to October 2021

Uganda complete the list with their own sequence of 11 straight T20i wins. It all began in September 2021, when the team beat Nigeria by 56 runs in Entebbe. Further victories over the Nigerians followed while this streak also includes wins over Kenya, Malawi, Ghana, Lesotho and others.

There are two standout performances in this sequence: The first is a 10-wicket victory over Lesotho, while special mention also goes to a 106-run win against Rwanda.


It’s hard to quantify some of the winning streaks on this list. In the case of the newer T20 cricket playing nations, they will obviously be playing some very weak sides along the way.

Should we, therefore, consider India’s run of 12 wins from 2021 to 2022 to be the most impressive? In the club section, a run of 25 straight wins by the Sialkot Stallions is seriously outstanding and it may never be beaten.

The challenge, as always, is for other teams to join this list, so who will we see delivering long winning runs in T20 cricket in the near future?