Highest Winning Streaks in IPL History – Top 10 Most Consecutive Wins

The biggest T20 league in the world has been dominated by specific teams at certain points in its history. Here are the longest winning streaks in the IPL.

Which Team has the Highest Winning Streak in the IPL?

The team with the most consecutive wins in the history of the IPL are the Kolkata Knight Riders. Using results across the 2014 and 2015 seasons, the team won 12 games in succession.

The run of victories includes the 2014 final and it extends into the first game of the 2015 campaign.

Top 10 Most Consecutive Wins in the IPL

10 Wins in Row – Kolkata Knight Riders – 2014-15

While there are some exceptional teams in the IPL, this record is going to be tough to beat. Ten straight wins in any form of cricket is a remarkable achievement and this was a superb KKR unit.

After a poor start to the 2014 season, the Knight Riders went on a run of nine wins that included victory in the final over Kings XI Punjab. KKR won their first game of IPL 2015 before the sequence of 10 was ended by Bangalore.

8 Wins in Row – Kings XI Punjab – 2013-14

Kings XI Punjab have traditionally been one of the weaker sides in the competition, but that wasn’t the case in 2014. The team reached the final on the back of some brutal batting displays from Glenn Maxwell in particular.

KXIP’s run of eight wins began in 2013 when they won their last three games of the tournament. 2014 began in exceptional style with five straight victories and it needed that brilliant Kolkata Knight Riders team to finally end Punjab’s run.

7 – Chennai Super Kings – 2013

Two teams have seven straight wins as of 2023. Chennai Super Kings put in their super seven in the 2013 season and that run began with a victory over the Delhi Daredevils.

CSK would go on to beat KKR twice and that run also included wins over Kings XI Punjab, Rajasthan Royals, Pune Warriors and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

7 – Royal Challengers Bangalore – 2011

Royal Challengers have consistently been one of the strongest IPL teams and it’s incredible to think that they’ve yet to win the competition. 2011 was a particularly productive year for RCB and it included a run of seven wins in a row.

The winning streak began with victory over Kolkata Knight Riders by nine wickets. It continued with wins against Kochi Tuskers, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Daredevils, Pune Warriors, Kings XI Punjab and KKR again, before Kings XI got their revenge and ended the run.

6 Wins – Mumbai Indians – 2008

By the end of the 2022 Indian Premier League, six teams had won six IPL games in a row. The first to do this were Mumbai Indians in the very first edition of the IPL in 2008.

Those that follow the IPL more closely will know that Mumbai have a reputation for being slow starters. That was the case in 2008 as they lost each of their first four games. Fortunately for the fans, the team rallied to win the next six matches in succession.

6 Wins – Rajasthan Royals – 2008

Rajasthan also enjoyed a run of six wins in the IPL’s debut season of 2008. The sequence began in the team’s eighth match when they defeated Deccan Chargers by eight wickets. The team then beat Delhi, Bangalore, Kolkata, Chennai and Mumbai before Kings XI Punjab ended the streak.

Rajasthan had previously won their first five games of the tournament, so it was no real surprise that they went on to win that 2008 trophy.

6 – Kolkata Knight Riders – 2012

KKR won their first IPL in 2012 and a run of six straight wins helped them take the title. The sequence began with an eight wicket victory over Kings XI Punjab and it continued with victories against Deccan Chargers, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Chennai Super Kings, Pune Warriors and Delhi Daredevils.

6 – Chennai Super Kings – 2014

Chennai Super Kings produced their first six-game winning run during the 2014 season. The first victory in that streak came against Delhi Daredevils after they dismissed their opponents for just 84 runs.

The run was completed by wins against Rajasthan Royals, Mumbai Indians, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Kolkata Knight Riders and Delhi Daredevils.

6 – Mumbai Indians – 2017

Mumbai Indians completed their second set of six consecutive IPL wins in the 2017 season. Rohit Sharma’s men lost their first game of the tournament but started to rally when they beat KKR in the follow up match.

That four-wicket victory started the six-game sequence which included wins over Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Gujarat Lions, Kings XI Punjab and Delhi Daredevils.

6 – Chennai Super Kings – 2018/19

CSK’s second set of six IPL wins started in 2018 and ran through to the start of the 2019 season. It all began with victory in the final group game. That inspired Chennai to progress and the third match of that sequence saw MS Dhoni’s men beat the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the final.

The Super Kings got their defence off to a great start in the following season. The sequence of six wins was continued with three straight victories before a defeat at the hands of Mumbai Indians ended the run.


In any form of cricket, a run of wins helps to build momentum and teams are hard to stop once they find their form. All of these sides have enjoyed some level of success on the back of these winning sequences.

One thing that I found interesting was the relative lack of recent winning runs. The last entry on this list, which was initially written in 2022, dates from the 2018/19 IPL seasons. Does this mean that the tournament is getting more competitive?

With ten teams now involved in the Indian Premier League, it may be harder to go on winning streaks in the future, and it will be fascinating to see if anyone else can get onto this list.