Which Team is the Baap of the IPL?

Baap is an interesting term which literally translates into English as ‘father’. It’s used in a number of cricketing contexts and, in this article, I’m going to look at the team who is considered to be the Baap of the IPL.

Why are Mumbai Indians called the Baap of the IPL?

Mumbai Indians are known as the Baap of the IPL, mainly because they have been the most successful team in the history of the competition.

They are also one of only five teams to have appeared in every single edition of the Indian Premier League since it started in 2008.

How Many Times Have Mumbai Indians Won the IPL?

Using results up to and including the 2022 Indian Premier League, Mumbai Indians have won the trophy on five occasions. They were one of the original franchises to play in this competition and their first title came along in 2013.

Following that first success, Mumbai Indians subsequently won the IPL in 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020.

Short History of Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians were formed in January 2008 and were one of the original eight franchises to play in the first edition of the Indian Premier League. They have competed in every edition since and have been champions on five occasions.

Sachin Tendulkar was the captain of that first side in 2008 but, for many years, they have been led by Rohit Sharma. With a big budget at their disposal, Mumbai tend to field some of the best quality overseas players and the West Indies’ Kieron Pollard has been a regular all-rounder in the team.

Best Matches Played by Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals, Mumbai, 2014

Mumbai Indians have been part of some thrilling games, but this encounter in 2014 is the most memorable as far as many supporters are concerned. This wasn’t exactly close, but it was the clinical nature of Mumbai’s run chase that made the game stand out.

Rajasthan batted first and set a target of 190. Anything approaching 200 is a stiff chase and the Royals’ innings of 189/5 was built around 74 from Sanju Samson.

Mumbai began their reply quickly but were losing wickets. At the end of the fifth over they were 61/3.

Corey Anderson then came in and played one of the greatest ever IPL innings. The left handed Kiwi blasted 95 from just 44 balls with nine 4s and six 6s. With Ambati Rayudu hitting 30 from 10 deliveries at the death, Mumbai chased down a significant target with more than five overs to spare.

It was an incredible run chase and, if Mumbai Indians were able to bat for the full 20 overs, Anderson may well have made a century and the team could have passed 250.

Mumbai Indians FAQ

Who is the Best Bowler for Mumbai Indians?

The best bowler in the history of the Mumbai Indians franchise has been Lasith Malinga. He is the team’s overall leading wicket taker with 170 victims in 122 games from 2009 to 2019.

That tally also makes Malinga the second highest wicket taker in IPL history. Only Dwayne Bravo, with 183 wickets, is ahead of him.

Lasith Malinga

Who is the Best Batsman for Mumbai Indians?

Mumbai Indians’ best batter is also their skipper. Rohit Sharma has played some vital innings and he’s the team’s leading scorer. By the end of the 2022 IPL, Rohit had scored 4,709 runs from 122 matches.

Rohit Sharma is also in fourth place in the list of overall run scorers in the Indian Premier League.

Rohit Sharma

Who is the Owner of the Mumbai Indians?

Mumbai Indians are owned by Reliance Industries who are the biggest conglomerate in India. The two most familiar representatives from Reliance are Mukesh Ambani and Nita Ambani.

Mukesh Ambani is the Chairman and Managing Director of the company while his wife, Nita Ambani is the Chairperson and a more regular visitor to Mumbai Indians games.

Who are the Biggest Rivals of the Mumbai Indians?

Chennai Super Kings are the biggest rival team to the Mumbai Indians. Behind Mumbai’s record of five IPL titles, CSK are the next best with four wins.

Chennai won the IPL in 2010, 2011, 2018 and 2021. Because they are close to Mumbai’s five victories, they are the Indians’ biggest rivals.


In terms of age, there are other teams that have been involved in the IPL for the same period of time as theMumbai Indians. They are not the oldest side, but they are still known as the Baap because they are the most successful.

Mumbai Indians have also been able to field squads with highly experienced players and this may also help when it comes to deciding who is the Baap. Rohit Sharma and Kieron Pollard can be included in that list.

After finishing at the bottom of the regular season table in 2022, perhaps it’s time for some of those older players to move over. If Mumbai Indians were to have a younger squad, could another team challenge their right to be called the Baap in the future?