List of all T20 Blast Winners by Year since 2003

It’s England’s major domestic T20 competition and it’s now time to look at the teams who have won every edition of the T20 Blast since its inception.

Which Team has Won the T20 Blast the Most Times?

Using results up to and including the 2021 final, Leicestershire Foxes are the most successful team in the history of the T20 Blast with three wins.

A competitive T20 side led at times by Paul Nixon, this has been a productive competition for Leicestershire who won the Blast in 2004, 2006 and 2011.

T20 Blast Winners by Year

2021 Winner

The 2021 T20 Blast was won by the Kent Spitfires beating Somerset by 25 runs.

Jordan Cox top scored with 58 from 28 balls as the Spitfires posted 167/7. In reply, Somerset’s total of 142/9 fell 25 runs short as Joe Denly took three wickets.

2020 Winner

The 2020 T20 Blast was won by the Notts Outlaws beating Surrey by six wickets.

The Outlaws won their second title in a shortened final with each side allocated 16 overs. Surrey posted 127/7 with Jason Roy hitting 66 but Notts passed their target with 16 balls to spare, thanks to 53 from Ben Duckett.


2019 Winner

The 2019 T20 Blast was won by the Essex Eagles beating Worcestershire Rapids by four wickets.

Essex’s Simon Harmer was Player of the Match with three wickets as the Rapids posted 145/9. In a thrilling last-ball finish, 36 from Ravi Bopara saw the Eagles squeeze home.


2018 Winner

The 2018 T20 Blast was won by the Worcestershire Rapids beating Sussex Sharks by five wickets.

A brilliant undefeated 46 from 27 balls from Ben Cox made the difference for the Rapids as they started to fall behind the rate. Earlier, three wickets from Moeen Ali restricted Sussex to 157/6 as Laurie Evans made 52.


2017 Winner

The 2017 T20 Blast was won by the Notts Outlaws beating Birmingham Bears by 22 runs.

A late flurry of runs by Notts’ skipper Dan Christian helped the Outlaws to 190/4 after Brendan Taylor and Samit Patel made half centuries. It was a high target that proved too much for the Bears despite 72 from Sam Hain.


2016 Winner

The 2016 T20 Blast was won by the Northants Steelbacks beating Durham Jets by four wickets.

Keaton Jennings posted a brilliant 88 as Durham posted 153/8 but it wasn’t quite enough. In reply, 80 from Player of the Match Josh Cobb took Northants home with five deliveries to spare.


2015 Winner

The 2015 T20 Blast was won by the Lancashire Lightning beating Northants Steelbacks by 13 runs.

Opener Alex Davies claimed the Player of the Match award as his 47 from 26 balls helped Lancashire post a winning target of 166/7. Wickets were shared around the Lightning side as Northants were restricted to 153/6 in reply.


2014 Winner

The 2014 T20 Blast was won by the Birmingham Bears beating Lancashire Lightning by 4 runs.

The big news in 2014 saw Andrew Flintoff return to professional cricket but Freddie would see his Lancashire team lose out in a close finish. Laurie Evans top scored with 53 as the Bears set a target of 181/5 while Oliver Hannon-Dalby’s three wickets helped restrict Lightning to 177/8.


2013 Winner

The 2013 T20 Blast was won by the Northants Steelbacks beating Surrey by 102 runs.

Duckworth Lewis played a part as the Steelbacks recorded the biggest victory in a Blast final in terms of runs. 60 from David Willey helped Northants finish on 194/2 while Surrey slumped to just 92 in reply as Willey claimed four wickets.


2012 Winner

The 2012 T20 Blast was won by the Hampshire Royals beating Yorkshire Carnegie by ten runs.

Hampshire claimed their second Blast title after Yorkshire fell ten runs short of the Royals’ target of 150/6. Despite finishing on the losing side, David Miller was named Player of the Match with 72 from 46 balls as Carnegie made 140/8 in reply.


2011 Winner

The 2011 T20 Blast was won by the Leicestershire Foxes beating Somerset by 18 runs.

The Foxes won their third title as Somerset lost in the final for the third year in a row. Leicestershire posted 145/6 as Will Jefferson top scored with 35. In their reply, Somerset could only make 127/9 as Josh Cobb claimed four wickets.


2010 Winner

The 2010 T20 Blast was won by the Hampshire Royals beating Somerset: Scores Level – Hampshire Royals won by losing fewer wickets.

2010 saw the closest final yet as the scores finished tied at the end of the game. There were no Super Overs back then so the Royals won as they had lost fewer wickets. Somerset posted 173/6 while 52 from Neil McKenzie saw Hampshire edge home as they replied with 173/5.


2009 Winner

The 2009 T20 Blast was won by the Sussex Sharks beating Somerset Sabres by 63 runs.

This was a comfortable victory for the Sharks who included future T20 World Cup winners Luke Wright and Michael Yardy in their line up. Sussex batted first and made 172/7 as Dwayne Smith top scored with 59. Three wickets from James Kirtley effectively ended the contest as the Sabres were dismissed for just 109 in reply.

2008 Winner

The 2008 T20 Blast was won by the Middlesex Crusaders beating Kent Spitfires by three runs.

Two teams from the South Group produced one of the most thrilling Blast finals as Middlesex squeezed home via a narrow margin. The Crusaders posted 187/6 thanks mainly to 75 from Player of the Match Owais Shah.

The Spitfires kept in touch with their target but a tight last over from Tyron Henderson handed the trophy to Middlesex.

2007 Winner

The 2007 T20 Blast was won by the Kent Spitfires beating Gloucestershire Gladiators by four wickets.

Kent and Gloucestershire both appeared in their first Blast final and it was the Spitfires who claimed the spoils. The Gladiators batted first and made 146/8 as Hamish Marshall top scored with 65.

The Spitfires squeezed home with three balls to spare, thanks mainly to Matt Walker who made 45 from 35 deliveries.


2006 Winner

The 2006 T20 Blast was won by the Leicestershire Foxes beating Notts Outlaws by four runs.

The Foxes won for the second time in three years in a match which was more comfortable than the scorecard suggests. Leicestershire took first knock as 86 from Darren Maddy saw them post 177/2.

Stephen Fleming made a half century for Notts in reply but the Outlaws were always behind the run rate and they ultimately fell four runs short.

2005 Winner

The 2005 T20 Blast was won by the Somerset Sabres beating Lancashire Lightning by seven wickets.

In a game reduced to 16 overs a side, Somerset chased down Lightning’s target of 115 with 11 balls to spare. Lancashire had made 114/8 with Stuart Law hitting 59 as Richard Johnson claimed three wickets.

The Sabres’ reply was steered by skipper Graeme Smith who made 64 from just 47 deliveries as he claimed the Player of the Match award.

2004 Winner

The 2004 T20 Blast was won by the Leicestershire Foxes beating Surrey Lions by seven wickets.

Surrey couldn’t quite defend their trophy as the Foxes claimed the first of their blast titles. The Lions batted first this time and another half century from Ali Brown took them to 168/6.

It was a competitive total but an unbeaten 77 from Brad Hodge got Leicestershire across the line in the final over.


2003 Winner

The 2003 T20 Blast was won by the Surrey Lions beating Warwickshire Bears by nine wickets.

Surrey made history by winning the first ever edition of the T20 Cup and their winning margin remains the widest in terms of wickets. Warwickshire Bears batted first and made just 115 as Jimmy Ormond claimed outstanding figures of 4/11.

The Lions cruised to their target with more than nine overs to spare as Ian Ward and Ali Brown made half centuries.