Pakistan squad for T20 world cup 2010 : Shahid Afridi is the captain.

Tag T20 World Cup 2010

Pakistan squad for T20 world cup 2010. Pakistan squad for Twenty20 world cup 2010 contains only 7 players who were a part of 2009 tournament which Pak team won. Defending their champions tag will not be easy for green team as several of their players were punished for poor performance in Australia 4 months ago and hence quite a few newer players have been given opportunity in this West Indies world cup.

Pakistan captain for T20 world cup 2010 will be Shahid Afridi although he was found guilty of ball tempering recently and PCB thought long and hard before reappointing him.

Waqar Younis is the coach of Pakistan squad while Ijaz Ahmed, former right handed batsman and under-19 coach, is the new fielding coach of the side.

Best rated T20 bowler Umar Gul was declared unfit after being named in the squad for shoulder injury while allrounder Yasir Arafat was ruled out due to calf injury. Mohammad Sami is replacement for Umar Gul while left arm spinner, Abdur Rehman, is named in place of Arafat even though he wasn't in standby to the main squad. Rehman has played two tests, 11 ODI & 2 T20 matches for Pakistan.

Also see : fixtures - T20 world cup 2010.

Pakistan squad for T20 world cup 2010.
Player Age T20 Mts Playing role
Shahid Afridi 30 27 Right hand bat, leg spinner
Misbah-ul-Haq 36 23 Right handed middle order batsman
Salman Butt 25 16 Left handed opening batsman
Mohammad Hafeez 29 9 Right handed batsman, offspinner
Umar Akmal 20 6 Right handed middle order batsman
Abdul Razzaq 30 11 Right handed bat, medium pacer
Hammad Azam 19 none Right handed batsman, right arm medium
Fawad Alam 24 18 Left hand bat, left arm spin
Mohammad Sami 29 none Right arm fast bowler
Khalid Latif 24 3 Right handed top order batsman
Kamran Akmal 28 28 Right handed batsman, wicketkeeper
Mohammad Asif 27 10 Right arm medium pace bowler
Abdur Rehman 30 2 Left arm orthodox spinner
Saeed Ajmal 32 14 Right arm offspinnner
Waqar Younis is the coach & Ijaz Ahmed fielding consultant

Note : Shahzaib Hasan ~ the right handed batsman, Raza Hasa ~ the 18 year old rookie left arm spinner, Sarfraz Ahmed ~ the wicket keeper and Naved Hasan ~ rookie left handed batting allrounder have been kept as stand by to main 15 member Pakistan T20 world cup squad. Pakistan's preliminary squad of 30 players aldo included Imran Nazir, Imran Farhat, Shoaib Mallik, Hasan Raza, Kamran Younis, Babar Azam, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, Wahab Riaz and Zulqarnain Haider but they were overlooked.

Related Articles

(1) England win T20 world cup 2010, beating arch rivals Australia.
(2) 2nd semi final : Miraculous Hussey takes Aussies into final.
(3) 1st semi final : In-form England cruise past Sri Lankan challenge.
(4) Super 8s game 12 : Aussies has it easy versus West Indies.
(5) Super 8s game 11 : Sri Lanka in semi-finals : India eliminated.
(6) Super 8s game 10 : England does Pak a favour, eliminate New Zealand.
(7) Super 8s game 9 : Pakistan send South Africa home, yet again.
(8) Super 8s game 8 : Aussies ten T20 undefeated ~ Sri Lanka 87 allout.
(9) Super 8s game 7 : Windies bouncers blow Indian batting apart.
(10) Super 8s game 6 : England overcome South African challenge.
(11) Super 8s game 5 : Thriller : New Zealand win : Pakistan eliminated.
(12) Super 8s game 4 : Jayawardene-Sangakkara thrash Windies attack.
(13) Super 8s game 3 : Aussies bouncers & openers destroy Indians.
(14) Super 8s game 2 : Morkel rescues South Africa versus New Zealand.
(15) Super 8s game 1 : Pakistani fielding costs them England encounter.
(16) Game 12 : Afghanistan 80 all out : South Africa enter super 8s.
(17) Game 11 : Aussies pass Bangla test, coming from behind : Pak qualify.
(18) Game 10 : Inspirational Irish bowling flushed in rain : England progress.
(19) Game 9 : Naive Zimbabwe 74 allout as New Zealand strom into super 8s.
(20) Game 8 : England hard done by D/L : Windies escape to super 8s.
(21) Game 7 : Sri Lanka survive Zimbabwe & rain scare, win by 14 runs (D/L).
(22) Game 6 : Unseeded Australia too good for defending champs Pakistan.
(23) Game 5 : Suresh Raina's century : India beat South Africa by 14 runs.
(24) Watch T20 world cup live, online, for free : plus match highlights.
(25) Game 4 : Pakistan survive Bangladesh scare, win by 21 runs.
(26) Game 3 : India cruise past Afghanistan rookies : Ashish Nehra MOM.
(27) Game 2 : Darren Sammy prevents Windies an Irish humiliation.
(28) Game 1 : Kiwis pull skin off Lankan teeth, win by 2 wkts, 1 ball left.
(29) Afghanistan in T20 world cup 2010 - a tale untold.
(30) West Indies squad for T20 world cup 2010 : Chris Gayle captain.
(31) Sri Lanka squad for T20 world cup 2010 : Kumar Sangakkara captain.
(32) New Zealand squad for T20 world cup 2010 : Daniel Vettori captain.
(33) Bangladesh squad for T20 world cup 2010 : Shakib Al Hasan captain.
(34) Zimbabwe squad for T20 world cup 2010 : Prosper Utseya is captain.
(35) Ireland squad for T20 world cup 2010 : William Porterfield captain.
(36) South Africa squad for T20 world cup 2010 : Graeme Smith captain.
(37) List of TV channels to watch T20 world cup 2010 live around the world.
(38) England squad for T20 world cup 2010 : Paul Collingwood captain.
(39) Pakistan squad for T20 world cup 2010 : Shahid Afridi is the captain.
(40) Australia squad for T20 world cup 2010 : Michael Clarke to captain.
(41) Points table of T20 world cup 2010 : Which team qualifies further?
(42) India squad for T20 world cup 2010 : MS Dhoni captain.
(43) Twenty20 World cup in West Indies 2010 : Match results, stories, scorecards.