Schedule : ICC Champions trophy, June 2013, in England.

Tag Champions-Trophy-2013

It always sounded like a great idea that top 8 cricket teams from around the world go head to head in short span of three weeks in ODI format but truth be told, Champions Trophy has not garnered the attaractions over the year. From 6 editions so far (first 2 were called ICC knock-out), Champions Trophy returns in 2013 for the final time as ICC has decided to scrap the tournament hence forth. here's the schedule for it which has been set up very thoughtfully, keeping arch-rivals (India & Pakistan, Australia with England and New Zealand) together..

Group A = Australia, England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka.
Group B = India, Pakistan, South Africa and West Indies.

Now, top two teams from each group qualifies for semi-final and towards the final. Matches will be hosted at Sophia Gardens in Cardiff in Wales, Kia Oval in London and Edgbaston in Birmingham. England last hosted champions Trophy back in 2004 when they lost to Caribbean team in a thrilling final. Aussies have thumpingly claimed last two editions.

Note that three matches are scheduled as day-night, while rest dozen will be day games.
Past winners = South Africa in 1998, New Zealand in 2001, shared by India & Sri Lanka in 2003, West Indies in 2004 and Australia in 2006 and 2009.

Points table of ICC Champions Trophy 2013.

Schedule/Fixtures : ICC Champions trophy in England, June 2013.
Date Match Venue
6 June 2013 (Day) India v South Africa Cardiff
7 June 2013 (Day) West Indies v Pakistan The Oval
8 June 2013 (Day) England v Australia Edgbaston
9 June 2013 (Day) Sri Lanka v New Zealand Cardiff
10 June 2013 (Day) Pakistan v South Africa Edgbaston
11 June 2013 (Day) India v West Indies The Oval
12 June 2013 (D/N) Australia v New Zealand Edgbaston
13 June 2013 (D/N) England v Sri Lanka The Oval
14 June 2013 (Day) West Indies v South Africa Cardiff
15 June 2013 (Day) India v Pakistan Edgbaston
16 June 2013 (Day) England v New Zealand Cardiff
17 June 2013 (D/N) Australia v Sri Lanka The Oval
19 June 2013 (Day) 1st Semi-final = England v South Africa The Oval
20 June 2013 (Day) 2nd Semi-final = India v Sri Lanka Cardiff
23 June 2013 (Day) The Final Edgbaston

Related Articles

(1) Final : Indians win Champions Trophy 2013, beat England by 5 runs.
(2) 2nd Semi-final : Sri Lankans too no challenge for in-form Indians.
(3) 1st Semi-final : South Africans choke yet again, England progress.
(4) Match 12 : Sri Lankans knock Aussies and Kiwis out of tournament.
(5) Match 11 : England defeat New Zealand to qualify for semi-final.
(6) Match 10 : India beat Pakistan for the first time in Champions Trophy.
(7) Match 9 : Windies fail to score winning run, South Africa progress.
(8) Match 8 : Sri Lankans chase down big English target to stay alive.
(9) Match 7 : Rain spoils developing contest between Aussies and Kiwis.
(10) Match 6 : In-form Indians brush Windies aside, qualify for semis.
(11) Match 5 : Pakistan surrender to South Africa and jolt their hopes.
(12) Match 4 : Kiwis pull skin off Lankan teeth, win by only wicket.
(13) Match 3 : Aussie batsmen fail again, England score 48 runs win.
(14) Match 2 : Windies cross Pakistan's below par target tentatively.
(15) Match 1 : Dhawan's maiden ODI ton helps India beat South Africa.
(16) Warm-up 6 : Sri Lankans fall just 17 short of big Windies total.
(17) Warm-up 5 : Indians recover superbly to beat Aussies by 243 runs.
(18) Warm-up 4 : South Africans surrender against Pakistani pacers.
(19) Warm-up 3 : Aussies make a positive start, beat rusty Windies.
(20) Warm-up 2 : Indians chase down solid Sri Lankan total at Edgbaston.
(21) Warm-up 1 : No play for Pakistan and Sri Lanka at rainy Edgbaston.
(22) New Zealand squad for Chamions Trophy 2013 : McCullum captain.
(23) West Indies squad for Champions Trophy 2013 : Dwayne Bravo captain.
(24) India squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2013 : MS Dhoni captain.
(25) England squad for Champions Trophy 2013 : Alastair Cook captain.
(26) Sri Lanka squad for Champions Trophy 2013 : Angelo Mathew captain.
(27) South Africa squad for Champions Trophy 2013 : AB de Villiers captain.
(28) Australia squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2013 : Clarke captain.
(29) Pakistan squad for ICC Champions trophy 2013 : Misbah captain.
(30) Schedule : ICC Champions trophy, June 2013, in England.