New Zealand squad for T20 world cup 2010 : Daniel Vettori captain.

Tag T20 World Cup 2010

New Zealand squad for T20 world cup 2010. The Kiwis. the blackcaps. the technicians.. New Zealand team is called by several names but sadly, they've rarely achieved some nouns in front, like World champions and thus, local New Zealand countrymen support other sports more than their cricket team.

New Zealand were semi-finalists in inagural T20 world cup back in 2007 and their performance didn't dip too much second time around in 2009 but the spot for finals eluded them. From May 2010 is another chance for black jersey team to prove they can make world stand up and clap for them.

Daniel Vettori will lead the side with Brendon McCullum free from wicket keeping responsibility as Gareth Hopkins has done exceptionally well in last 6 months in shortest version of the game. New Zealand T20 world cup squad also marks the return of Jesse Ryder, the talismanic allrounder who bats left handed in top order and can bowl his quota medium pace overs with accuracy. Jesse last played for Kiwis back in September 2009 in Champions trophy before suffering abdominal surgrey. Aaron Redmond, the right handed opener, is the surprize pick and as is Rob Nicol, the 27 year old rookie who bats right handed and also bowls offspin. Nicol was in termendos domestic form and earned his place on sheer weight of performances.

Shane Bond, Kyle Mills, Ian Butler, and Tim Southee are the medium pace options in the squad with also includes Nathan McCullum, the offspinner.

Fixtures : T20 world cup 2010.

New Zealand squad for T20 world cup 2010.
Players Age T20 Mts Playing role
Daniel Vettori (captain) 31 21 Left arm spinner, left handed batsman
Ross Taylor (v.c) 26 27 Right handed top order batsman
Martin Guptill 23 15 Right handed batsman, can offspin
Jesse Ryder 25 9 Left handed batsman, right arm medium
Scott Styris 35 22 Right handed batsman, right arm medium
Jacob Oram 32 23 Left handed batsman, right arm medium
Aaron Redmond 30 4 Right handed opening batsman
Brendon McCullum 28 33 Right handed batsman, wicket keeper
Gareth Hopkins 33 4 Right handed batsman, wicket keeper
Nathan McCullum 29 15 Right handed batsman, offspinner
Kyle Mills 31 15 Right arm medium fast, can bat
Rob Nicol 27 rookie right arm medium & offspinner
Shane Bond 35 15 Right arm fast medium bowler
Tim Southee 21 11 Right arm medium fast bowler
Ian Butler 28 12 Right arm medium fast bowler

Related Articles

Captain Collingwood scored the winning runs for England.

England win T20 world cup 2010, beating arch rivals Australia.

Winning a world cup, of any sport, is a revolution..

England started cricket, played first official test match centuries ago in year 1877 but registered their first revolution only on 16 May 2010, claiming T20 world cup in West Indies. rather emphatically.

Finalists in 1975, 79 and 9
Michael Hussey smashed 3 sixes in last over to take his team into first T20 world cup final.

2nd semi final : Miraculous Hussey takes Aussies into final.

A cricket match isn't over untill Mr cricket is still at the crease..

4 down for 62 in 9th over and only 105 board when David Hussey departed in 13th over, Aussie dream of claiming their first t20 world cup was nearly over yesterday at St Lucia in
Stuart Broad was man of the semifinal.

1st semi final : In-form England cruise past Sri Lankan challenge.

A team that holds the record of most cricket world cup finals without winning one, England, booked their final berth yesterday for the 4th time in history and first since 1992.

Itsonlycricket had tipped England as one of main contenders of this West Indies world cup in
Dirk Nannes removed Chris Gayle, and half sealed the game for Australia.

Super 8s game 12 : Aussies has it easy versus West Indies.

Winning is a habbit. and cricket Australia has it..

Today, in an insignificant last league game of super 8s round of T20 world cup 2010 as Aussies had already qualified for finals, team from down under decided against trying out bench strength, played same eleven, and won the
Chamara Kapugedera hit a six off last ball to win Sri Lanka the game.

Super 8s game 11 : Sri Lanka in semi-finals : India eliminated.

A format that flushes out minnows early, allows top 8 to go head to head, and keeps each team in hunt for a semifinal spot right upto their last league game even without a single win is one brilliant schedule ICC have found for T20 world cups. It's been repeated thrice