Ind v Eng : 2nd test : First win for Indians in 16 overseas games.
Highest 4th inn chases : England eyeing their 2nd biggest record.
1st test : Tailenders stand tall as only 29 wickets fall = a draw.
India squad | Head to head | Records | In 2011 : India lost 0-4.
SA v SL : 1st test : South Africa register 153 runs win at Galle.
IPL records : Most runs | Most wkts | Highest individual score.
Fastest century | Fastest fifty | Who has hit most sixes in IPL.
Most runs by a batsman in one series = 733, by Gayle & Hussey.
Highest & lowest totals | Biggest chases | Highest partnerships.
Best bowling figures | Most wkts in a series | Expensive spells.
Itsonlycricket - Ask a cricket question
Who has the most test double hundreds in a calendar year? Who has the most test hundreds in a calendar year?
Asked by: David on 12-11-2012..
Fan Answer
BinitMost centuries in a calender year is a record held by firmly by Mohammad Yusuf of Pakistan, making 9 hundreds in same year in which he broke the record of most runs in a calender year. Ricky Ponting was in super form that year as well but remained two behind. here's the list..

Most test centuries in a year
9 centuries = Mohammad Yusuf of Pakistan in year 2006, 1788 runs.
7 centuries = Ricky Ponting of Australia in year 2006, 1333 runs.
7 centuries = Vivian Richards of West Indies in year 1976, 1710 runs.
7 centuries = Arvinda de Silva of Sri Lanka in year 1997, 1220 runs.
7 centuries = Sachin Tendulkar of India in year 2010, 1562 runs.
6 centuries = Graeme Smith of South Africa in year 2008, 1656 runs.

There have been just three batsmen to score more than two double centuries in one calender year. They are = Michael Clarke, Don Bradman and Ricky Ponting, all from Australia. here's a list..

Most double centuries in a year
4 double centuries = Michael Clarke in year 2012. Highest = 329*.
3 double centuries = Don Bradman in year 1930. highest = 334.
3 double centuries = Ricky Ponting in year 2003. Highest = 257.

There have been 15 batsmen to score two double centuries in one year :
Wally Hammond of England in 1928 & 1932, Don Bradman of Australia in 1931, 1934 and 1936, Vinoo Mankand of India in 1955, Rohan Kanhai of West Indies in 1958, Glenn Turner of New Zealand in 1971, Vivian Richards of West Indies in 1976, Gordon Greenidge of West Indies in 1984, Javed Miandad of Pakistan in 1988, Vinod Kambli of India in 1992, Graeme Smith of South Africa in 2003, Brian Lara of West Indies in 2003, Kumar Sangakkara of Sri Lanka in 2004 & 2007, Ricky Ponting of Australia in 2003, Thilan Samaraweera of Sri Lanka in 2008 and now recently, Rahul Dravid of India in 2003.
Jimdravid did not score 3 double hundreds in 2003. he scored 2 and scored 270 in 2004
Contribute your answer:
Your name :
Your eMail :
Security Code:

Not the answer you were looking for? Refer to extended Itsonlycricket records page.